Preaching and Pottering

harry-potter-booksSo I finally did it.  I mentioned the Harry Potter books in a sermon this morning.  And, beyond that, I gladly acknowledged that I have read them and am currently rereading them.  And, even beyond that, I (again, gladly) read them to our kids as they were growing up.  Yup, I said it.  And it was high time I did.

Why?  Well, the best way I know to express this is to allow Jerram Barrs to speak to it.  Jerram is the Professor of Christian Studies and Contemporary Culture at Covenant Theological Seminary.  He is also the Resident Scholar of the Francis A. Schaeffer Institute in St. Louis, MO.  I could go on and on about his wisdom, humility, and gospel winsomeness.  But I think you can see all that in this video clip.  I encourage you to watch and consider it with great care –  https://blogs.thegospelcoalition.org/justintaylor/2015/03/08/why-jerram-barrs-read-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-six-times-in-six-months/

If what Jerram says so well in that clip intrigues you, you might also enjoy listening to this presentation – http://www.bethinking.org/culture/jk-rowling-and-harry-potter .  There’s a helpful outline as well.

I’d say more.  But I need to get to Platform 9 3/4 at Kings Cross Station and catch the Hogwarts Express.

This entry was posted in Sermon clippings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

